info/retreat info/lretreat: Fix truncated glossary list items
[empserver] / CREDITS
1 This file contains a list of known contributors to Empire (either
2 in coding, testing, ideas or moral support. :) )
3
4 Empire is a multi-player, client/server Internet based war game. It
5 is distributed in two main parts, a server, where the game actually
6 runs, and clients that connect to the server.  The server portion
7 ships with a basic client.  This basic client is also available
8 seperately.  There are also many third-party clients available.
9
10 Empire is based on a game written in the late 70s/early 80s by Peter
11 Langston.  Since he wouldn't give out the source code, a large reverse
12 engineering/re-coding project was undertaken to create a new version
13 of this game and make the source available for all.  Since that time,
14 the Empire code has changed drastically and been re-written numerous
15 times, and none of that original code exists (other than in fond
16 memories) in this code base anymore.
17
18 There have been various "stages" of Empire development.  At this point
19 in time (October, 1998) there have been 5 major stages identified,
20 each with a leading author.  They are as follows (with successsive
21 projects building on the projects before it):
22
23   Dave Pare <mr-frog@smarttouch.com> (UCSD/BSD)
24   Jeff Bailey <bailey@mcs.kent.edu> (KSU (1.04) Distribution of BSD)
25   Thomas Ruschak <ts@ecn.purdue.edu> (Chainsaw)
26   Ken Stevens <KStevens@GlobeandMail.ca> (3.0.x)
27   Steve McClure <ionica@empire.cx> (Wolfpack)
28
29 It is due to these above people pulling projects together that the
30 Empire server has gotten to where it is today.
31
32 Empire is copyrighted and released by the 5 people above under the GNU
33 GPL.  See files README, COPYING and CREDITS for related information
34 and legal notices.  It is expected that future projects/authors will
35 amend these files as needed.  The source files have been updated to
36 reflect this license, and much erroneous data (such as bogus file
37 headers) has been fixed.
38
39 Empire source code has always been freely available, with the intent
40 of it always being freely available, it was just never properly
41 copyrighted or licensed until the first release under the GNU GPL
42 (4.2.0).  It is our goal to keep Empire source free and available at all
43 times.
44
45 Also see the "History" info file for a more detailed listing of
46 the history of Empire.
47
48 Currently (June, 2003), Empire development is being led by the
49 Wolfpack team.  You can find them at <http://www.wolfpackempire.com/>
50 or e-mail <wolfpack@wolfpackempire.com>.
51
52 In addition, the people below are recognized as having either given
53 code to the above authors, submitted patches, helped on various
54 aspects of the projects (such as info pages), play tested, submitted
55 bug reports, bounced ideas, etc.
56
57 Many of the source files have no listed known contributors due to the
58 fact that many, many people contributed anonymously.  For those where
59 we knew who contributors were, we listed them in the header.  It is
60 hoped that in the future contributors will put their names into this
61 list at the top of the file, and that new files have the same type of
62 header applied to them for future tracking (though obviously it is
63 not required.)
64
65 We are sure that the list below is most likely incomplete, and anyone
66 who doesn't see your name on the below list, don't be offended, we
67 didn't mean it!  Just send us an e-mail letting us know and we'll be
68 more than happy to add you.  Also, let us know your latest e-mail
69 address if you'd like it included.
70
71 ---
72
73 James Anderson <jwa@k.cs.cmu.edu>
74 Jeff Anton <anton@postgres.berkeley.edu>
75 Markus Armbruster <armbru@pond.sub.org>
76 Jeff Bailey <bailey@mcs.kent.edu>
77 Mark Ballinger
78 Jan van Beethoven
79 Paul Byrne
80 Geoff Cashman
81 Bill Canning
82 Trannie Carter
83 Sean Casey
84 David Davis
85 Aaron Dewell <dewell@greatland.net>
86 Jorge Diaz
87 Drake Diedrich <dld@debian.org>
88 Yaser Doleh
89 Ed Down
90 Phill Everson <everson@compsci.bristol.ac.uk>
91 Scott Ferguson
92 Robert Forsman <thoth@beach.cis.ufl.edu>
93 Bill Frolick
94 Steven Grady
95 Keith Graham
96 Jim Griffith <griffith@scam.Berkeley.EDU>
97 Steven Grimm <koreth@ucscb.UCSC.EDU>
98 Karl Hagen
99 Doug Hay <Doug_Hay@tsb.ca>
100 Ken Huisman
101 Ray Hyatt <Ray.Hyatt@gmail.com>
102 Lewis R. Jansen <lrj@helios.tn.cornell.edu>
103 Mike St. Johns <stjohns@edn-vax.arpa>
104 Beorn Johnson
105 William S. Kaster
106 Jeremy Kennebel
107 Kevin Klemmick
108 Ron Koenderink <rkoenderink@yahoo.ca>
109 Ron Kuris <rk@unify.com>
110 Nick Lai <lai@cs.ucla.edu>
111 Phil Lapsley
112 Curtis Larsen
113 Robert A. Larson <blarson@skat.usc.edu>
114 Jonathan Lee
115 Craig Leres
116 Dan Logcher <dan@i-kinetics.com>
117 Pat Loney <overlord@multi.usr.ch>
118 Shelley Louie <slouie@cory.berekely.edu>
119 Steve McClure
120 Chris Metcalf <metcalf-christopher@yale.arpa>
121 Sasha Mikheev
122 Kevin Morgan
123 Richard Moss
124 Keith Muller <muller@sdcc7.ucsd.edu>
125 Chuck Musciano <chuck@trantor.harris-atd.com>
126 Dave Nye
127 Kevin O'Connor
128 Jeff Okamoto <okamoto%hpccc@hplabs.hp.com>
129 Marc Olzheim
130 Julian Onions <jpo@computer-science.nottingham.ac.uk>
131 Jim Ortlieb
132 Dave Pare <mr-frog@smarttouch.com>
133 Gregory Paris
134 Kurt Pires <kjpires@ic.berkeley.edu>
135 Brett Reid
136 Bernhard Reiter <breiter@mathematik.Uni-Osnabrueck.DE>
137 Jim Reuter <reuter@decwrl.dec.com>
138 James Risner <risemp@openworldinc.com>
139 Thomas Ruschak <ts@ecn.purdue.edu>
140 Edward M. Rynes
141 David Muir Sharnoff <muir@cogsci.berkeley.edu>
142 Alex Shatsky
143 Walter Smith
144 Ken Stevens <KStevens@GlobeandMail.ca>
145 Michael Straub
146 Tom Tedrick
147 Sam Tetherow
148 Yannick Tremblay <yt1@eng.cam.ac.uk>
149 Janjaap van Velthooven
150 Ville Virrankoski
151 Peter Vukovich <peterv@monet.berkeley.edu>
152 Jeff Wallace <jeffw@scam.berkeley.edu>
153 Sverker Wiberg
154 Mike Wise
155 John Yockey <johny@verinet.com>
156 Chad Zabel