client: Unbreak standalone build
[empserver] / man / empire.6
1 .TH EMPIRE 6
2 .SH NAME
3 empire \- Empire client
4 .SH SYNOPSIS
5 .B empire
6 [\fB\-hkruv\fP]
7 [\fB\-2\fP \fIoutfile\fP]
8 [\fB\-H\fP \fIhistfile\fP]
9 [\fB\-s\fP \fI[host:]port\fP]
10 [\fIcountry\fP
11 [\fIpassword\fP]]
12 .br
13 .SH DESCRIPTION
14 .B empire
15 is a bare bones client to connect to the Empire server.  Empire is a
16 global economic/political/military simulation game wherein players,
17 representing national governments, make "real-time" decisions
18 concerning resource allocation, national goals, international
19 diplomatic efforts, etc.  Extensive records are kept for all players.
20 .PP
21 WARNING -- This game is not only addictive but often peels back
22 the thin veneer of civilization that hides the maniac within.
23 .SH OPTIONS
24 .TP
25 .B \-h
26 Help.  Print brief usage information and exit.
27 .TP
28 .BI \-H " histfile"
29 Load command history from \fIhistfile\fP, and save it back.  Default
30 is '~/.empire_history' without \fB\-r\fP, and none with \fB-r\fP.  You
31 might want to protect your history file from prying eyes.
32 .IP
33 Only available when compiled the GNU \fBreadline\fP library.
34 .TP
35 .B \-k
36 If someone else is connected to your country, kill their connection.
37 .TP
38 .B \-r
39 Restricted mode: disable redirections and execute command.  This is
40 useful when you want to grant somebody access to just Empire, but not
41 to the host system's user account that runs the client.  Be careful
42 with \fB\-H\fP and \fB\-2\fP then.
43 .TP
44 .BI \-s " [host:]port"
45 Specify server \fIhost\fR and \fIport\fR.
46 .TP
47 .B \-u
48 Use UTF-8 rather than ASCII character set.
49 .IP
50 This requires server version 4.2.21 or later, and a terminal that
51 understands UTF-8.
52 .TP
53 .B \-v
54 Print version information and exit.
55 .TP
56 .BI \-2 " outfile"
57 Append log of session to \fIoutfile\fR.
58 .SH OPERANDS
59 .TP
60 .I country
61 The name of your country in the game.
62 .TP
63 .I password
64 The password for your country in the game.
65 \fIWarning:\fR the password passed here is visible to other users on
66 the same machine!
67 .SH ENVIRONMENT VARIABLES
68 The following environment variables affect the execution of the
69 client:
70 .TP
71 .I EMPIREHOST
72 Specifies the host to connect to, i.e. where the server runs.
73 Only effective if no host specified via \-s.
74 .TP
75 .I EMPIREPORT
76 Specifies the port number or service name to connect to.
77 Only effective if no port specified via \-s.
78 .TP
79 .I COUNTRY
80 The name of your country in the game.
81 .TP
82 .I PLAYER
83 The password for your country in the game, also known as your
84 representative.
85 .TP
86 .I LOGNAME
87 Your user name.
88 .TP
89 .I INPUTRC
90 The filename for the \fBreadline\fP startup file, overriding the
91 default of \fI~/.inputrc\fP (see \fBREADLINE\fP below).
92 .SH READLINE
93 When compiled with the GNU \fBreadline\fP library, the client supports
94 fancy line editing and persistent history.  Its application name for
95 application-specific settings is \fBEmpire\fP.  See the readline
96 documentation for details.
97 .SH "SEE ALSO"
98 \fIemp_server\fR(6), \fIreadline\fR(3).
99 .SH FILES
100 .TP
101 .I ~/.inputrc
102 Individual \fBreadline\fP initialization file
103 .SH AUTHORS
104 .nf
105 Primary Author is Dave Pare <mr-frog@scam.berkeley.edu>
106 Secondary authors/contributors may include:
107 James Anderson <jwa@k.cs.cmu.edu>
108 Jeff Anton <anton@postgres.berkeley.edu>
109 Markus Armbruster <armbru@pond.sub.org>
110 Phill Everson <everson@compsci.bristol.ac.uk>
111 Steven Grimm <koreth@ucscb.UCSC.EDU>
112 Martin Haukeli <martin.haukeli@gmail.com>
113 Lewis R. Jansen <lrj@helios.tn.cornell.edu>
114 Mike St. Johns <stjohns@edn-vax.arpa>
115 Ron Koenderink <rkoenderink@yahoo.ca>
116 Nick Lai <lai@cs.ucla.edu>
117 Shelley Louie <slouie@cory.berekely.edu>
118 Steve McClure <ionica@empire.cx>
119 Chris Metcalf <metcalf-christopher@yale.arpa>
120 Dave Muir Sharnoff <muir@cogsci.berkeley.edu>
121 Keith Muller <muller@sdcc7.ucsd.edu>
122 Chuck Musciano <chuck@trantor.harris-atd.com>
123 Jeff Okamoto <okamoto%hpccc@hplabs.hp.com>
124 Julian Onions <jpo@computer-science.nottingham.ac.uk>
125 Kurt Pires <kjpires@ic.berkeley.edu>
126 Jim Reuter <reuter@decwrl.dec.com>
127 Peter Vukovich <peterv@monet.berkeley.edu>
128 Jeff Wallace <jeffw@scam.berkeley.edu>
129 John Yockey <johny@verinet.com>