Remove option SLOW_WAR
authorMarkus Armbruster <armbru@pond.sub.org>
Sun, 9 Jan 2011 18:03:38 +0000 (19:03 +0100)
committerMarkus Armbruster <armbru@pond.sub.org>
Sun, 13 Feb 2011 14:59:49 +0000 (15:59 +0100)
commit439f111f9859393a787ce33694e0758ca8a090de
treeb706d8ca5f2bc592efe3d67f2d50013680d23194
parenta94ae5f8c1f99bf972175318fc3f09dbcf995fcc
Remove option SLOW_WAR

SLOW_WAR has issues:

* The check whether the attacker old-owns the attacked sector is
  broken, because att_abort() uses sect.sct_oldown uninitialized.

  Spotted by the Clang Static Analyzer.

* Its implementation in setrel() is somewhat scary.  It's actually
  okay, because that part of setrel() only runs within decl().  Other
  callers don't reach it: update_main() because player->god != 0
  there, and the rest because they never pass a rel < HOSTILE.

* Documentation is a bit vague.

SLOW_WAR hasn't been used in a public game in years.  Fixing it is not
worth it, so remove it instead.
23 files changed:
include/econfig-spec.h
include/nat.h
info/Attacking.t
info/Options.t
info/declare.t
info/fire.t
info/relations.t
info/version.t
src/lib/commands/assa.c
src/lib/commands/bomb.c
src/lib/commands/decl.c
src/lib/commands/laun.c
src/lib/commands/mfir.c
src/lib/commands/vers.c
src/lib/common/nat.c
src/lib/global/constants.c
src/lib/global/options.c
src/lib/global/symbol.c
src/lib/subs/attsub.c
src/lib/subs/lndsub.c
src/lib/subs/mission.c
src/lib/subs/rej.c
src/lib/update/main.c