Don't use automatic supply to avoid starvation at the update
authorMarkus Armbruster <armbru@pond.sub.org>
Thu, 12 Feb 2009 06:39:46 +0000 (07:39 +0100)
committerMarkus Armbruster <armbru@pond.sub.org>
Sun, 15 Feb 2009 11:51:05 +0000 (12:51 +0100)
commit7da69c92e00fbf67d6a4a28a70348bdb00f5df25
tree8b44df59f4469287bdfa5dbcdfaa2dd40829ea8f
parentc0b300d875a270154960d32553f244fd419899d4
Don't use automatic supply to avoid starvation at the update

Food supply during update adds complexity to the update.  How much
good it does to players is highly doubtful; certainly nobody can rely
on it.  It isn't covered by the starvation command.  Starving ships or
land units can steal enough food from their sector to make it starve,
too.  Finally, the supply code is notoriously hard to use correctly.
We don't know of issues with the update's use, but we haven't
convinced ourselves that there aren't any either.
info/Food.t
info/Land-units.t
info/Update-sequence.t
info/starvation.t
info/supply.t
src/lib/update/human.c
src/lib/update/land.c
src/lib/update/sect.c
src/lib/update/ship.c