Generalize new path finder to A* pathfind-astar
authorMarkus Armbruster <armbru@pond.sub.org>
Sat, 5 Mar 2011 15:04:17 +0000 (16:04 +0100)
committerMarkus Armbruster <armbru@pond.sub.org>
Tue, 12 Apr 2011 20:29:01 +0000 (22:29 +0200)
commitba08bfc0c92031920fe64878fc08b3d3b199006c
tree7d64f8054b9305578f433c8c5b018f513b151b49
parent04363a92db7e80942c03f9dee6edca88cc3536eb
Generalize new path finder to A*

A* is only usable for a single path, except with a heuristic function
returning always zero, which turns it into Dijkstra's algorithm.
Distribution uses it that way, because it needs to find multiple paths
from the same source as efficiently as possible.  Only the other uses
of path search can profit from A*'s superior efficiency.

I feel the extra complexity is not justified.  Besides, it slows down
distribution path assembly a bit, which is the only case where
efficiency really matters.  Let's stick to Dijkstra's for now.
src/lib/common/pathfind.c