README: Advise on lack of readline
authorMarkus Armbruster <armbru@pond.sub.org>
Sat, 2 Sep 2017 12:57:06 +0000 (14:57 +0200)
committerMarkus Armbruster <armbru@pond.sub.org>
Sat, 2 Sep 2017 13:03:45 +0000 (15:03 +0200)
Missed in commit f1fc0df.

Signed-off-by: Markus Armbruster <armbru@pond.sub.org>
README
src/client/README

diff --git a/README b/README
index e791839..7650ebd 100644 (file)
--- a/README
+++ b/README
@@ -34,6 +34,11 @@ To build the server and set up a game, follow the steps below.
     make install.  The last step is optional; everything runs fine
     right from the build tree.
 
+    If configure reports "readline: no" in its configuration summary,
+    fancy line editing doesn't work in the client.  Commonly caused by
+    not having development libraries installed.  On Linux, try
+    installing readline-devel.
+
     If configure reports "terminfo: no" in its configuration summary,
     highlighting doesn't work in the client.  Commonly caused by not
     having development libraries installed.  On Linux, try installing
index 72839c0..8a36fca 100644 (file)
@@ -19,6 +19,11 @@ instructions.  Quick guide for the impatient: run configure; make;
 make install.  The last step is optional; everything runs fine right
 from the build tree.
 
+If configure reports "readline: no" in its configuration summary,
+fancy line editing doesn't work in the client.  Commonly caused by not
+having development libraries installed.  On Linux, try installing
+readline-devel.
+
 If configure reports "terminfo: no" in its configuration summary,
 highlighting doesn't work.  Commonly caused by not having development
 libraries installed.  On Linux, try installing ncurses-devel.